Our Trip to Muriwai Beach

Mālō bloggers,

Earlier in Week 7, the Year 4 and 5 students of Te Waka Ako went for a school trip to Muriwai Beach. We were really excited as this was the first trip since Covid began and we knew it was going to be a fun time!

We arrived at the Life-Saving Club in Muriwai and were exposed to lots of important messages about keeping ourselves safe at the beach. We learned how to recognise a rip, what to do if we were stuck in one and why it is a good idea to swim between the flags.

We also got to check out all the interesting gear and fascinating vehicles Life-guards use when patrolling beaches in Aotearoa.

Finally, we went down to the beach and got struck by torrential rain. It was pouring! We got just as wet in the water as we did on land but that didn’t stop us from having a great time. There was boogeyboarding, body surfing and lots of tumbles. We showed lots of resilience and didn’t let the crazy weather stop us from making awesome memories!

By the time we got back to school, we were exhausted. We had a great time!

What fun memories do you have of going to the beach?

 

14 thoughts on “Our Trip to Muriwai Beach

  1. Hola, my name is Madeleine and I am in Waitemata at Waikowhai Primary School. I really liked your post about the year 5’s trip to Muriwai Beach. I remember when I went to a beach and as soon as we got in the water, it started to rain. Have you ever been in a life boat? Thanks for sharing your learning. You should check out my at https://wapsmadelined.edublogs.org/.
    Blog you later,
    Madeleine

  2. Kia Ora, It’s Lily from room Waitemata. It looks like you had a wonderful time and enjoyed it as much as possible. I love how you have added so many photos it feel like I’m at the beach just looking at them. I remember when I went to Muriwai beach and I was asking my mum had to keep a good eye on us because the waves were massive and the currents and rips were so strong. I was even making holes in the sand from the water being so strong. Thanks for sharing you learning and how much fun you had. You should check out my blog at https://wapslilyp.edublogs.org/ Blog you later!

  3. Kia ora, my name is Anna and I am in Waitemata at Waikowhai Primary School. I really like your blog post about Muriwai beach trip. I remember when I did something like this but at a diffrent place. Have you ever tried swimming with flippers? You can check out my blog on this at https://wapsannab.edublogs.org/

    Blog you later
    Anna

  4. Kia Ora, my name is Londyn and I am in Waitemata at Waikowhai Primary School.
    I really liked your blog post about the beach trip It looked like so much fun boogeyboarding. I remember when I did somthing like this when I went camping!.
    here is my blog! https://wapslondynh.edublogs.org/
    Have you ever tried a beach clean up?
    Thanks for sharing your learning. You should check out my blog post.

    Blog you later!
    Londyn.

  5. Kia ora, my name is Kiara and I am in Waitemata at Waikowhai Primary School.
    I really liked your post about Muriwai Beach Trip

    I remember when I did something like this and the school did a beach clean.

    Have you ever tried a beach clean up ?

    Thanks for sharing your learning. You should check out my blog.https://wapskiarac.edublogs.org/

  6. Kia Ora, my name is Sarah and I am in Waitemata at Waikowhai Primary School. I really liked your blog post about when you guys went swimming. I remember when I did something like this with my family on my cousin’s birthday. Have you ever tried going to going to block house bay? Thank for sharing your learning. You should check out my blog https://wapssarahi.edublogs.org/.
    Blog you later, Sarah

  7. Kia ora, Te Waka Ako!

    It’s Vivian from Waitemata, I really loved the way you arranged the pictures also liked how you wrote about the main parts. I found it very easy to read because it was simple and there wasn’t a lot of words. One of the fun meriones the I had was having a collecting shells race on the beach.

    What did you learn on Muriwai Beach? What life-guard vehicles were their and what made it interesting?

    Thank you for sharing your learning .You should check out my blog https://wapsvivianp.edublogs.org/

    Blog you later,
    Vivian

  8. Kia Ora, my name is Jodeci and I am in Waitemata at Waikowhai Primary school.
    I really liked your blog post about when you talked about when we went down to the beach and got struck by torrential rain and It was pouring!.
    I remember I did something like this at Piha beach and I was so scared!.
    Thank you for sharing your Learning.

    blog you later
    Jodeci

  9. Kia Ora, my name is Morgan and I am in Waitemata in Te Waka Ako at Waikowhai Primary School. I really liked your blog post about Muriwai Beach it reminds me about the time I went to the beach with my family. I remember when I did something that relates with this when the school did a big beach cleanup.
    Have you ever tried to do a big beach cleanup with your school and your community?
    Thanks for sharing your learning you should check out my blog at https://wapsmorganl.edublogs.org/
    Blog you later,
    Morgan

  10. Kia Ora, my name is Charlie and i am in Waitemata at Waikowhai Primary School.
    I really liked your blog post about the amount of safety you need.

    I remember when I did something like this when i went to Piha it a dangerous place to go but it was fun.

    Have you ever tried to go to other beaches or places ?

    Thank for sharing your learning. You should check out my blog https://wapscharliea.edublogs.org/://wapscharliea.edublogs.org/

    Blog you later

  11. Kia ora , my name is Tyler and I am in Waitemata at Waikowhai primary school.
    I really liked your blog post about the trip.
    I remember when I went to a beach.
    Was it fun?
    Blog you later.

  12. Kia ora Te Waka Ako. Muriwai! I live in Muriwai… how cool is it? I’m glad you learnt how to keep yourself safe in the water. The waves are pretty big and the undercurrents are pretty strong. It’s awesome to see all your positive, thoughtful and helpful comments too (and links to your own blogs).

  13. Kia Ora, my name is Kieran and i am in Waitemata at Waikowhai Primary School.
    I really liked your blog post about how the year 4 and 5 did so much because it looked like it was a ok day there.
    I remember when I went to Muriwai beach and did all of that.
    Have you ever tried jumping over the waves?
    Thanks for sharing your learning. You should check out my blog
    https://wapskieranp.edublogs.org/
    blog you later, Kieran

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *